

# **NRC NEWS**

#### U.S. NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

Office of Public Affairs Telephone: 301/415-8200 Washington, D.C. 20555-0001

E-mail: <a href="mailto:opa.resource@nrc.gov">opa.resource@nrc.gov</a> Site: <a href="mailto:www.nrc.gov">www.nrc.gov</a> Blog: <a href="mailto:http://public-blog.nrc-gateway.gov">http://public-blog.nrc-gateway.gov</a>

No. 12-059 May 18, 2012

# NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION HONORS EMPLOYEES IN ROCKVILLE, MARYLAND, CEREMONY

The Nuclear Regulatory Commission held its 35<sup>th</sup> Annual Awards Ceremony May 17th to acknowledge recipients of the Presidential Distinguished and Meritorious Executive Rank Awards and the NRC's Distinguished and Meritorious Service Awards. The recipients were:

#### **Presidential Meritorious Executive Rank Award**

Patrick L. Hiland, Director, Division of Engineering, Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

### **Distinguished Service Awards**

Richard J. Conte, Sr., Branch Chief, Engineering Branch No. 1, Division of Reactor Safety, Region I

James Randall Hall, Senior Project Manager, Plant Licensing Branch IV, Division of Operating Reactor Licensing, Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

Timothy J. McCartin, Senior Level Advisor for Performance Assessment, Division of Spent Fuel Alternative Strategies, Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards

David Terao, Branch Chief, Component Integrity, Performance and Testing Branch, Division of Engineering, Office of New Reactors

#### **Honorary Distinguished Service Award**

Jeffry M. Sharkey, Chief of Staff, Office of Commissioner Svinicki

## Meritorious Service Awards for Equal Employment Opportunity Excellence

Jánelle B. Jessie, Project Manager, Low-Level Waste Branch, Environmental Protection and Performance Assessment Directorate, Division of Waste Management and Environmental Protection, Office of Federal and State Materials and Environment Management Programs

Travis L. Tate, Branch Chief, Accident Dose Branch, Division of Risk Assessment, Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

#### **Meritorious Service Awards**

Christopher S. Bajwa, Senior Mechanical Engineer, Thermal & Containment Branch Division of Spent Fuel Storage and Transportation, Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards

Rochelle Cathleen Bavol, Policy Coordinator, Operations Staff, Office of the Secretary

Kathryn M. Brock, Deputy Assistant for Operations, Technical, Corporate and Correspondence Management, Office of the Executive Director for Operations

Jay W. Collins, Senior Materials Engineer, Piping and Non-Destructive Examination Branch, Division of Engineering, Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

Donald A. Cool, Ph.D., Senior Advisor for Radiation Safety and International Liaison, Division of Intergovernmental Liaison and Rulemaking, Office of Federal and State Materials and Environmental Management Programs

Tremaine U. Donnell, Team Leader, Information Collections Team, Information Services Branch, Information and Records Services Division, Office of Information Services

Atanasia Fragoyannis, Senior Level Advisor for Nonproliferation and International Nuclear Security, Office of International Programs

Christopher Gratton, Senior Project Manager, Japan Lessons Learned Project Directorate, Division of Operating Reactor Licensing, Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

Holly M. Harrington, Senior Advisor, Office of Public Affairs

Myra Hays, Director, Division of Resource Management and Administration, Region IV

Thomas G. Hiltz, Branch Chief, Technical Support Branch, Special Projects and Technical Support Directorate, Division of Fuel Cycle Safety and Safeguards, Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards

Robert L. Johnson, Senior Project Manager, Special Projects Branch, Decommissioning and Uranium Recovery, Licensing Directorate, Division of Waste Management and Environmental Protection, Office of Federal and State Materials and Environmental Management Programs

Myron L. Kemerer, MBA, PMP, Branch Chief, Capital Planning and Applications Support Branch, Business Process Improvement and Applications Division. Office of Information Services

Michael A. King, Information Technology Specialist, Information Resources Branch, Division of Resource Management and Administration, Region III

Scott J. Langan, Deputy Office Director, Office of Investigations

Christine A. Lipa, Branch Chief, Materials Control, Independent Spent Fuel Storage Installation, and Decommissioning Branch, Division of Nuclear Materials Safety, Region III

Darlene S. Mahoney, Branch Chief, Operations Branch A, Associate Director for Human Resources Operations and Policy, Office of the Chief Human Capital Officer

Jane E. Marshall, Branch Chief, Coordination Branch, Division of Preparedness and Response, Office of Nuclear Security and Incident Response

Marjorie M. McLaughlin, Senior Enforcement Specialist, Allegations/Enforcement Staff Region I

Patricia G. Nibert, Management Analyst, Concerns Resolution Branch, Office of Enforcement

Neil F. O'Keefe, Branch Chief, Reactor Projects Branch B, Division of Reactor Projects Region IV

Gordon S. Peterson, Jr., Deputy Budget Director, Division of Planning and Budget, Office of the Chief Financial Officer

Thomas Nga Pham, Senior Safeguards Technical Analyst, Material Control and Accounting Branch, Division of Fuel Cycle Safety and Safeguards, Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards

Jacob Philip, Geotechnical Engineer, Environmental Transport Branch, Division of Risk Analysis, Office of Nuclear Regulatory Research

Randolph C. Ragland, Jr., Senior Health Physicist, Materials Security and Industrial Branch, Division of Nuclear Materials Safety, Region I

Stacey L. Rosenberg, Branch Chief, Vessels and Internals Integrity Branch, Division of Engineering, Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

Joseph M. Sebrosky, Senior Project Manager, Licensing Branch 4, Division of New Reactor Licensing, Office of New Reactors

James C. Shehee, Senior Physical Security Inspector/Team Leader, Plant Support Branch II, Division of Reactor Safety, Region II

Scott E. Sparks, Senior Enforcement Specialist, Enforcement and Investigations Coordination Staff, Region II

Annette Marie Stang, Emergency Preparedness Analyst, Inspection and Regulatory Improvements Branch, Division of Preparedness and Response, Office of Nuclear Security and Incident Response

Kathleen McDarby Stout, Senior Program Analyst, Financial and Performance Management Branch Program Management, Policy Development and Analysis Staff, Office of Nuclear Regulatory Research

Renée C. Taylor, Administrative Assistant, Office of the Executive Director for Operations

Michael A. Turner, Senior Contract Specialist, Information, Management and Technology Branch, Division of Contracts, Office of Administration

James C. Whitney, Senior Intelligence Analyst, Information Liaison and Threat Assessment Branch, Deputy Director For Security Programs, Division of Security Operations, Office of Nuclear Security and Incident Response

Donna M. Williams, Technical Assistant, Office of New Reactors

#### ###

NOTE: Anyone wishing to take photos or use a camera to record any portion of a NRC meeting should contact the Office of Public Affairs beforehand.

News releases are available through a free *Listserv* subscription or by clicking on the EMAIL UPDATES link on the NRC homepage (<a href="www.nrc.gov">www.nrc.gov</a>). E-mail notifications are sent to subscribers when news releases are posted to NRC's website. For the latest news, follow the NRC on <a href="www.twitter.com/NRCgov">www.twitter.com/NRCgov</a>.