

NRC NEWS

U.S. NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

Office of Public Affairs Telephone: 301/415-8200 Washington, D.C. 20555-0001

E-mail: opa.resource@nrc.gov Site: www.nrc.gov Blog: http://public-blog.nrc-gateway.gov

No. 12-008 January 17, 2012

NRC ADVISORY COMMITTEE ON REACTOR SAFEGUARDS APPOINTS NEW MEMBER

The Nuclear Regulatory Commission has appointed Stephen P. Schultz to the Advisory Committee on Reactor Safeguards (ACRS) for a four-year term.

Schultz is a nuclear engineering consultant in Charlotte, N.C., having retired from Duke Energy Corporation after 33 years of leading technical engineering services teams in the nuclear utility business. As a consultant to the International Atomic Energy Agency, he developed guidance on reactor technology assessment and selection for near-term deployment. Schultz has provided industry technical leadership on task force and working group initiatives, and committees for the Nuclear Energy Institute and the Electric Power Research Institute. He is a registered professional engineer in North Carolina and a lifetime member of the American Nuclear Society.

Schultz earned his Bachelor of Science degree in Engineering from Harvey Mudd College, his Master of Science degree in Nuclear Science and Engineering from Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute and his Doctor of Science degree in Nuclear Engineering from Massachusetts Institute of Technology. He also completed his Master of Business Administration at Northeastern University.

The other members of the ACRS include:

- J. Sam Armijo, chairman, adjunct professor of materials science and engineering at the University of Nevada, Reno
- John W. Stetkar, vice chairman, principal of Stetkar and Associates, Lake Forest, Calif.
- Harold Ray, member-at-large, retired chief executive vice president of Southern California Edison Company, Rosemead, Calif.
- Said Abdel-Khalik, Southern Nuclear Distinguished Professor at the Georgia Institute of Technology
- Sanjoy Banerjee, professor of chemical engineering and director of the Institute for Sustainable Energy Technologies at the Grove School of Engineering at City College of New York, N.Y.
- Dennis C. Bley, president of Buttonwood Consulting, Inc., Oakton, Va.
- Charles H. Brown, Jr., senior advisor for electrical systems for BMT Syntek Technologies, Inc., Arlington, Va.

- Michael L. Corradini, professor and chairman of the department of engineering physics at the University of Wisconsin, Madison
- Dana A. Powers, senior scientist for Sandia National Laboratories in Albuquerque, N.M.
- Joy L. Rempe, laboratory fellow and group leader at the Idaho National Laboratory, Idaho Falls, Idaho
- Michael T. Ryan, principal of Michael T. Ryan and Associates LLC, Lexington, S.C.
- William J. Shack, retired associate director of the energy technology division, Argonne National Laboratory, Argonne, Ill.
- John D. Sieber, retired senior vice president of the nuclear power division of Duquesne Light Company, Pittsburgh, Pa.
- Gordon R. Skillman, independent consultant in nuclear power plant design and registered professional engineer in Pennsylvania and Virginia.

All biographies are available on the NRC website at http://www.nrc.gov/about-nrc/regulatory/advisory/acrs/membership.html .

###

News releases are available through a free *Listserv* subscription or by clicking on the EMAIL UPDATES link on the NRC homepage (www.nrc.gov). E-mail notifications are sent to subscribers when news releases are posted to NRC's website. For the latest news, follow the NRC on www.twitter.com/NRCgov.