

NRC NEWS

U.S. NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

Office of Public Affairs Telephone: 301/415-8200

Washington, D.C. 20555-0001 E-mail: opa@nrc.gov

Web Site: http://www.nrc.gov

No. 06-107 September 8, 2006

NRC NAMES TWO NEW MEMBERS TO ITS ADVISORY COMMITTEE ON REACTOR SAFEGUARDS

The Nuclear Regulatory Commission has appointed Dr. Said Abdel-Khalik and Dr. Michael Corradini to its Advisory Committee on Reactor Safeguards (ACRS), which advises the Commission on licensing and operation of nuclear power plants, and related safety issues.

Dr. Abdel-Khalik earned his bachelor of science degree in mechanical engineering from Alexandria University, Egypt, in 1967, and his master of science degree and doctorate, also in mechanical engineering, from the University of Wisconsin-Madison in 1971 and 1973, respectively.

Dr. Abdel-Khalik was a University of Wisconsin faculty member until 1987, when he joined the Georgia Institute of Technology as the Georgia Power Distinguished Professor. He was named the Southern Nuclear Distinguished Professor at Georgia Tech in 1993.

Over the past 30 years, Dr. Abdel-Khalik has supervised more than 100 graduate theses in mechanical and nuclear engineering. He has published a textbook on accident and transient analysis for PWRs, and numerous papers, including more than 130 articles in leading journals in the thermal sciences. He also holds several patents. His research has involved both mechanical and nuclear engineering and included a mix between fundamental and applied research, both experimental and numerical. His current research deals with single- and two-phase flow and heat transfer in high-power density systems.

Dr. Michael Corradini earned his bachelor of science degree in mechanical engineering at Marquette University in Milwaukee, Wis., in 1975, and both his master of science degree and doctorate in nuclear engineering at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, Mass., in 1976 and 1978, respectively.

Dr. Corradini is professor and chair of the Nuclear Engineering and Engineering Physics Program at the University of Wisconsin. He is also the director of Wisconsin Institute of Nuclear Systems. He has more than 30 years of research experience in the areas of multi-phase fluid mechanics and heat transfer, nuclear reactor safety, severe accidents, reactor operation, energy policy, and nuclear waste disposal. Dr. Corradini has extensive research experience in phenomenology beyond design basis accidents in light water reactors, including molten fuel-coolant interactions, molten core-concrete interactions, hydrogen generation, and containment response.

Dr. Corradini has served on various advisory committees, received numerous awards, authored two book chapters and one book (on multi-phase flow) and more than 200 technical papers. He was a consultant to the ACRS from 1982 to 1997. During this time he provided assistance on technical issues associated with severe accident progression, source term, containment performance, and development of a severe accident policy statement. Dr. Corradini is a fellow of the American Nuclear Society and a member of the National Academy of Engineering. He is a past chairman of the Nuclear Waste Technical Review Board. This year, he was appointed to the scientific advisory board to the French Civilian Atomic Energy Agency.

The other members of ACRS are:

- Dr. George Apostolakis, professor of Nuclear Engineering, professor of Engineering Systems, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, Mass.
- Dr. J. Sam Armijo, adjunct professor of Materials Science and Engineering at the University of Nevada, Reno, Nev.
- Dr. Sanjoy Banerjee, professor, Department of Chemical Engineering, with a joint appointment in Mechanical Engineering, University of California, Santa Barbara, Calif.
- Dr. Mario V. Bonaca, retired director, Nuclear Engineering Department, Northeast Utilities, Conn.
- Mr. Otto Maynard, retired consultant in the nuclear and aviation sectors of industry, Grand Lake, Okla.
- Dr. Thomas S. Kress, retired head of Applied Systems Technology Section, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, Oak Ridge, Tenn.
- Dr. Dana A. Powers, senior scientist, Nuclear Facilities Safety Department, Sandia National Laboratories, Albuquerque, N.M.
- Dr. William J. Shack, associate director, Energy Technology Division, Argonne National Laboratory, Argonne, Ill.
- Mr. John D. Sieber, retired senior vice president, Nuclear Power Division, Duquesne Light Company, Pittsburgh, Penn.
- Dr. Graham B. Wallis, Sherman Fairchild Professor Emeritus, Thayer School of Engineering, Dartmouth College, Hanover, N.H.