

NRC NEWS

U.S. NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

Office of Public Affairs Telephone: 301/415-8200
Washington, D.C. 20555-0001 E-mail: opa@nrc.gov

Web Site: http://www.nrc.gov

No. 06-019 February 8, 2006

NRC NAMES OTTO L. MAYNARD TO ADVISORY COMMITTEE ON REACTOR SAFEGUARDS

The Nuclear Regulatory Commission has appointed Otto L. Maynard to the Advisory Committee on Reactor Safeguards (ACRS).

Maynard earned his bachelor of science degree in Aeronautical Engineering from Wichita State University in 1970, and spent 10 years in the aerospace industry before joining Westinghouse at the Naval Reactors Facility in Idaho. At that facility, Maynard qualified as an instructor on the S1W Prototype Plant. Later, he joined the staff at the Wolf Creek Generating Station in Kansas where he held numerous positions including Licensed Senior Reactor Operator, Plant Manager, Chief Nuclear Office and Chief Executive Officer.

Currently, Maynard is retired but performs part-time consulting in the nuclear and aviation sectors. He also participates on the Safety Review and Audit Board (off-site nuclear safety review committee) for the Cooper Nuclear Station.

The ACRS, authorized by the Atomic Energy Act of 1954, as amended, advises the Commission on licensing and operation of nuclear power plants, and related safety issues.

OTHER ACRS MEMBERS

- Dr. George E. Apostolakis, Professor, Nuclear Engineering Department, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, Mass.
- Dr. Mario V. Bonaca, retired Director, Nuclear Engineering Department, Northeast Utilities, Waterford, Conn.
- Dr. Richard S. Denning, employee of both Battelle Memorial Institute and the Ohio State University, Columbus, Ohio.
- Dr. Thomas S. Kress, retired Head of Applied Systems Technology Section, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, Oak Ridge, Tenn.

- Dr. Dana A. Powers, Senior Scientist, Nuclear Facilities Safety Department, Sandia National Laboratories, Albuquerque, NM.
- Dr. William J. Shack, Associate Director, Energy Technology Division, Argonne National Laboratory, Argonne, Ill.
- John D. Sieber, retired Senior Vice President, Nuclear Power Division, Duquesne Light Company, Pittsburgh, Pa.
- Dr. Graham B. Wallis, Professor, Thayer School of Engineering, Dartmouth College, Hanover, NH.

###