

NRC NEWS

U.S. NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

Office of Public Affairs Telephone: 301/415-8200

Washington, DC 20555-001 E-mail: opa@nrc.gov

Web Site: http://www.nrc.gov/OPA

No. 05-078 May 12, 2005

NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION HONORS EMPLOYEES ON MAY 12 IN ROCKVILLE, MARYLAND

The Nuclear Regulatory Commission will hold its 28th Annual Awards Ceremony on Thursday, May 12, at 2 p.m. in front of the agency headquarters at the White Flint Complex in Rockville, Md. During the ceremony, the NRC will acknowledge recipients of the Presidential Distinguished and Meritorious Executive Rank Awards and the NRC's Distinguished and Meritorious Service Awards. The recipients are:

Presidential Distinguished Executive Rank Award

Paul E. Bird Director

Office of Human Resources

William D. Travers Regional Administrator

Region II

Presidential Meritorious Executive Rank Awards

Dwight D. Chamberlain Director

Division of Reactor Safety

Region IV

John W. Craig Former Deputy Director

Office of Nuclear Regulatory Research

Mark A. Cunningham Deputy Director

Division of Risk Analysis and Applications Office of Nuclear Regulatory Research

Marc L. Dapas Director

Division of Nuclear Materials Safety

Region III

Stephen D. Dingbaum Assistant Inspector General for Audits

Office of the Inspector General

Timothy F. Hagan Director

Office of Administration

M. Wayne Hodges Deputy Director

Technical Review Directorate Spent Fuel Project Office

Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards

Wayne D. Lanning Director

Division of Reactor Safety

Region I

Charles L. Miller Director

Division of Industrial and Medical Nuclear Safety Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards

Peter J. Rabideau Deputy Chief Financial Officer

Office of the Chief Financial Officer

Jack R. Strosnider, Jr. Director

Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards

Roy P. Zimmerman Director

Office of Nuclear Security and Incident Response

NRC Distinguished Service Awards

Steven Louis Baggett Technical Assistant

Spent Fuel Project Office

Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards

William D. Johnson Chief

Reactor Projects Branch A

Region IV

Patrick Michael Madden Chief

Research and Test Reactor Section
Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

Brenda Joyce Shelton Chief

Records and FOIA/Privacy Services Branch

Office of Information Services

NRC Honorary Meritorious Service Awards

Margaret Doane Deputy Director

Office of International Programs

Daniel J. Graser Licensing Support Network Administrator

Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel

John Thomas Larkins Executive Director

Advisory Committee on Reactor Safeguards/

Advisory Committee on Nuclear Waste

Janice Dunn Lee Director

Office of International Programs

Arnold (Moe) Levin Director

Infrastructure and Computer Operations Division

Office of Information Services

Linda D. Lewis Special Assistant

Office of Commissioner McGaffigan

NRC Meritorious Service Awards for Equal Employment Opportunity Excellence

Samson Sui-sun Lee Chief

License Renewal Section A

Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

McKenzie Thomas Senior Reactor Inspector

Region II

NRC Meritorious Service Awards

Shelly L. Baggett Program Assistant

Office of the Chief Financial Officer

Althemese Renea Bailey Service Center Team Leader

Office of Administration

Lena M. Boyd Secretary

Office of Investigations

Lawrence T. Doerflein Chief

Safety Systems Branch

Region I

Allen L. Hiser, Jr. Chief

Component Integrity Section

Office of Nuclear Regulatory Research

Catherine M. Holzle Senior Attorney

Office of the General Counsel

Laura A. Hurley Operator Licensing Assistant

Region IV

John P. Jankovich Team Leader

Sealed Source and Device Team

Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards

Sharon Law Johnson Allegations Assistant

Region I

Caudle A. Julian Senior Project Manager

Region II

Ralph R. Landry Senior Reactor Engineer

Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

Joseph L. López, Jr. Human Resources Specialist

Region IV

John R. Madera Chief

Materials Inspection Branch

Region III

Alan L. Madison Chief

Vulnerability Assessment and Integrated Response Staff

Office of Nuclear Security and Incident Response

John D. Monninger Chief

Licensing Section

Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards

John A. Nakoski Chief

Section II-1

Office of the Nuclear Reactor Regulation

Robert A. Nelson Chief

Uranium Processing Section

Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards

Steven K. Orth Health Physics Program Manager (Team Leader)

Region III

Renée M. Pedersen Senior Enforcement Specialist

Office of Enforcement

Marie A. Pohida Senior Risk and Reliability Analyst

Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

Jacqueline K. Raines Administrative Assistant

Office of Commissioner Jaczko

Diane Screnci Senior Public Affairs Officer

Region I

Office of Public Affairs

Elizabeth K. Suarez Senior Budget Analyst

Office of Nuclear Security and Incident Response

Alison H. Tallarico Human Resources Team Leader

Services and Operations Team 2 Office of Human Resources

Christopher S. Thomas Senior Resident Inspector

Davis-Besse Nuclear Power Station

Region III

Gina F. Thompson Team Leader

Program Planning and Budget Team Office of Nuclear Regulatory Research Tu Thi Tran Team Leader

Application Services and Maintenance Team

Office of Information Services

Betsy Ullrich Senior Health Physicist

Region I

Rosetta O. Virgilio Senior Federal and State Liaison Program Manager

Office of State and Tribal Programs

Sandra L. Wastler Chief

Section B

Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards

Beth Wetzel Senior Regional Coordinator/Program Engineer

Office of the Executive Director for Operations

Elois J. Wiggins Assistant for Acquisition Management and Competitive Sourcing

Office of Administration

Martha Campbell Williams Senior Material Control and Accounting Physical Scientist

Office of Nuclear Security and Incident Response

Jerry N. Wilson Senior Policy Analyst

Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

John Zeiler Senior Resident Inspector

Virgil C. Summer Nuclear Station

Region II

###