

NRC NEWS

U.S. NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

Office of Public Affairs Telephone: 301/415-8200 Washington, D.C. 20555-0001 E-mail: opa@nrc.gov

Web Site: http://www.nrc.gov/OPA

No. 05-011 January 19, 2005

NRC'S ADVISORY COMMITTEE ON REACTOR SAFEGUARDS ELECTS NEW CHAIRMAN, VICE CHAIRMAN AND MEMBER-AT-LARGE

The Nuclear Regulatory Commission's Advisory Committee on Reactor Safeguards (ACRS) has elected Dr. Graham B. Wallis as Chairman, Dr. William J. Shack as Vice-Chairman, and John D. Sieber as Member-at-Large. The ACRS advises the Commission independently from the NRC staff on the safety and safeguards aspects of nuclear facilities and the adequacy of safety standards.

Dr. Wallis was appointed to the ACRS in 1998. He received his bachelor's degree in 1957 in mechanical sciences from Cambridge University. He received his master of science degree from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology and later earned M.A. and Ph.D. degrees at Cambridge University. Dr. Wallis is the emeritus Sherman Fairchild Professor of Engineering, Thayer School of Engineering, Dartmouth College. Previously, he'd served in a variety of academic positions in the U.S. and abroad, including several positions at Dartmouth, where he also served as interim dean of engineering from 1994-1995. His consulting experience includes Creare, Inc. and Hypertherm, Inc.

Dr. Shack was appointed to the ACRS in 1993. He received a bachelor's degree in civil engineering from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, and M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in applied mechanics from the University of California-Berkeley. Previously, Dr. Shack was an assistant professor in the Mechanical Engineering Department at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, and later joined the Argonne National Laboratory, where he is currently associate director of the Energy Technology Division. His work has included measurement and modeling of residual stresses, fracture mechanics analyses of stress corrosion crack growth, assessment of leak-before-break behavior in piping systems, and fatigue of reactor materials.

Sieber was appointed to the ACRS in 1999. He received his B.S. M.E. degree from Carnegie Mellon University. He also attended Purdue University and the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. He has served as a member or director of: Electric Power Research Institute, Nuclear Electric Insurance Limited, Nuclear Energy Institute, Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, and the Westinghouse Owners Group. He was senior vice president and chief nuclear officer at Duquesne Light Co. prior to retirement. Sieber has been the president of Northmont Consulting, Inc., since 1994. His primary activities include nuclear plant assessments, management oversight, event analysis, root cause determinations, and operational and human performance analysis.

The other members of the ACRS are:

- Dr. George E. Apostolakis, professor, Nuclear Engineering Department, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, Mass.;
- Dr. Mario V. Bonaca, retired director, Nuclear Engineering Department, Northeast Utilities, Conn.;
- Dr. Richard S. Denning, senior research leader and adjunct professor, Battelle Memorial Institute and The Ohio State University, Columbus, Ohio;
- Dr. F. Peter Ford, consultant and retired program manager, General Electric Research and Development Center, Schenectady, N.Y.;
- Dr. Thomas S. Kress, retired head of Applied Systems Technology Section, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, Oak Ridge, Tenn.;
- Dr. Dana A. Powers, senior scientist, Nuclear Facilities Safety Department, Sandia National Laboratories, Albuquerque, N.M.;
- Dr. Victor H. Ransom, professor emeritus, Purdue School of Nuclear Engineering, West Lafayette, Ind.; and
- Mr. Stephen L. Rosen, retired manager, risk management and industry relations, STP Nuclear Operating Company at South Texas Project Electric Generating Station, Lake Jackson, Texas.

###