

NRC NEWS

U.S. NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

Office of Public Affairs Telephone: 301/415-8200 Washington, DC 20555-001 E-mail: opa@nrc.gov

Web Site: http://www.nrc.gov/OPA

No. 04-063 May 24, 2004

NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION HONORS EMPLOYEES ON MAY 27 IN ROCKVILLE, MD

The Nuclear Regulatory Commission will hold its 27th Annual Awards Ceremony on Thursday, May 27, at 2:00 p.m. on the Green in front of agency headquarters at the White Flint Complex in Rockville, Md.

During the ceremony, NRC will acknowledge recipients of the Presidential Distinguished and Meritorious Executive Rank Awards and the NRC's Distinguished and Meritorious Service Awards. The recipients are:

Presidential Distinguished Executive Rank Awards

Samuel J. Collins Deputy Executive Director for Reactor Programs

Office of the Executive Director for Operations

Hubert J. Miller Regional Administrator

Region I

Presidential Meritorious Executive Rank Awards

Lawrence J. Chandler Associate General Councel for Hearings, Enforcement, and

Administration

Office of the General Counsel

Douglas M. Collins Director

Division of Fuel Facility Inspection

Region II

Frank J. Congel Director

Office of Enforcement

William M. Dean Assistant for Operations

Office of the Executive Director for Operations

Margaret V. Federline Deputy Director

Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards

Jesse L. Funches Chief Financial Officer

Gary M. Holahan Executive Assistant for Reactors and Research

Office of the Chairman

Arthur T. Howell III Director

Division of Reactor Projects

Region IV

Ledyard B. (Tad) Marsh Director

Division of Licensing Project Management Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

Scott F. Newberry Former Director

Division of Risk Analysis and Applications Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

George C. Pangburn Director

Division of Nuclear Materials Safety

Region I

C. William (Bill) Reamer Director

Division of High Level Waste Repository Safety Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards

Luis A. Reyes Executive Director for Operations

James B. Schaeffer Director

Business Process Improvement and Applications Division

Office of the Chief Information Officer

Brian W. Sheron Associate Director for Project Licensing and Technical Analysis

Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

NRC Honorary Distinguished Service Awards

Maria E. Lopez-Otin Executive Assistant/Chief of Staff

Office of the Chairman

James W. Johnson (Posthumous) Former Senior Advisor to the Director

Office of Nuclear Regulatory Research

NRC Distinguished Service Awards

Marianne M. Aitcheson Senior Contract Analyst (Group Leader)

Procurement Management Group Office of Nuclear Regulatory Research

Richard P. Correia Chief

Resource Management Branch

Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

Francis M. Costello Deputy Director

Division of Nuclear Materials Safety

Region I

Robert E. Shewmaker Senior Project Manager

Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards

Jan Strasma Senior Public Affairs Officer

Region III Field Office Office of Public Affairs

NRC Honorary Meritorious Service Awards

Steven F. Crockett Special Counsel

Office of the General Counsel

Pao-Tsin Kuo Program Director

License Renewal and Environmental Impacts Program

Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

Jeffry M. Sharkey Chief of Staff

Office of Commissioner Edward McGaffigan, Jr.

Nathan O. Siu Senior Technical Advisor for PRA Analysis

Office of Nuclear Regulatory Research

NRC Meritorious Service Awards for Equal Employment Opportunity Excellence

Marva C. Gary Civil Rights Program Manager

Office of Small Business and Civil Rights

KimBerly B. Jones Management Analyst

Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

NRC Meritorious Service Awards

Thomas H. Andrews, Jr. Emergency Response Coordinator

Region IV

Edith E. Barnhill Operator Licensing Assistant

Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

Russell L. Bywater, Jr. Senior Reactor Analyst

Region IV

Mary Faith Carter International Programs Manager

Office of International Programs

Kristin R. Davis Senior Human Resources Management Analyst

Office of Human Resources

Victor Dricks Senior Public Affairs Officer

Region IV Field Office Office of Public Affairs

Roland M. Frye, Jr. Senior Attorney

Office of Commission Appellate Adjudication

Carol A. Gallagher Regulations Specialist

Office of Administration

Peter J. Habighorst Senior Resident Inspector

Indian Point Unit 2 Resident Office

Region I

Bobby L. Holbrook Senior Resident Inspector

Browns Ferry Resident Office

Region II

Marcella J. Holmes Investigations Assistant

Region I Field Office Office of Investigations

Elizabeth A. Jacobs-Baynard Senior Program Analyst

Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards

Kathaleen J. Kerr Senior State Assistant

Office of State and Tribal Programs

Janet Phelan Kotra Senior Project Manager

Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards

Dan Lurie Mathematical Statistician

Office of the Chief Financial Officer

George M. Mathews III Chief

Business Services and Project Management Branch

Office of the Chief Information Officer

Timothy J. McGinty Chief

Inspection and Communications Section Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

Barbara D. Meehan Senior Contract Specialist

Office of Administration

Marvin M. Mendonca Senior Project Manager

Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

Reginald W. Mitchell Chief

Information Resources Branch

Region III

Andrew Persinko Senior Nuclear Process Engineer

Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards

Darrell J. Roberts Technical Assistant

Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

Constance C. Schum Program Analyst

Office of the Executive Director for Operations

Gary L. Shear Acting Deputy Director

Division of Nuclear Materials Safety

Region III

Mohammed A. Shuaibi Senior Project Manager

Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

Phyllis Sobel Senior Project Manager

Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards

Lars Solander Financial Manager (Team Leader)

Financial Management Team

Office of Nuclear Security and Incident Response

Dina Sotiropoulos Regional Human Resources Officer

Region III

Robert E. Trojanowski Regional State Liaison Officer

Region II

Lynda S. Venson Accountant

Office of the Chief Financial Officer

Tracy E. Walker Communications Coordinator

Region I

Roberta S. Warren Chief

Threat Assessment Section

Office of Nuclear Security and Incident Response

Darlene Kay Wright Administrative Secretary

Office of the Secretary

Vicki E. Yanez Program Analyst

Office of the Chief Information Officer

###