

NRC NEWS

U.S. NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

Office of Public Affairs Telephone: 301/415-8200 Washington, DC 20555-001 E-mail: opa@nrc.gov

Web Site: http://www.nrc.gov/OPA

No. 03-124 September 29, 2003

NRC NAMES NEW MEMBER TO ADVISORY COMMITTEE ON NUCLEAR WASTE

The Nuclear Regulatory Commission has appointed Dr. Ruth F. Weiner as the fifth member of its Advisory Committee on Nuclear Waste (ACNW).

The NRC established the ACNW in June 1988 to provide the Commission technical opinions, independent of NRC staff, on activities, programs, and key issues associated with the regulation, management, and safe disposal of radioactive waste.

Dr. Weiner comes to the ACNW with extensive academic and government experience on nuclear waste transportation and storage, most recently on environmental impact studies for the proposed high-level nuclear waste storage facility at Yucca Mountain, Nev. Her work includes risk assessments of low-level waste transportation to the Department of Energy's site in Hanford, Wash., and studies of the chemistry of waste at the DOE's Waste Isolation Pilot Plant in New Mexico.

Dr. Weiner received her bachelor's and master's degrees in physics from the University of Illinois in 1956 and 1957, respectively. She received her doctorate in chemistry from Johns Hopkins University in 1962. She currently serves as Secretary-Treasurer for the American Nuclear Society's Fuel Cycle and Waste Division, and as Scholarship Chair for the society's Environmental Sciences Division. She previously served on the society's Board of Directors. She is currently an adjunct professor in the University of Michigan's Nuclear Engineering and Radiation Sciences Department.

The other four ACNW members are Chairman B. John Garrick, Vice-Chairman Michael T. Ryan, former committee Chairman George M. Hornberger, and Milton Levenson.

###