

## NRC NEWS

## U. S. NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

Office of Public Affairs Telephone 301/415-820 Washington, DC 20555-0001 E-mail: opa@nrc.gov Web Site: www.nrc.gov

No. 03-088 July 8, 2003

## NRC ADVISORY COMMITTEE ON NUCLEAR WASTE ELECTS CHAIRMAN AND VICE CHAIRMAN

The Nuclear Regulatory Commission's Advisory Committee on Nuclear Waste (ACNW) has elected Dr. B. John Garrick as Chairman and Dr. Michael T. Ryan as Vice-Chairman.

The NRC established the ACNW in June 1988 to provide the Commission technical opinions, independent of NRC staff, on activities, programs, and key technical issues associated with the regulation, management, and safe disposal of radioactive waste.

Dr. Garrick, a physicist and engineer who was previously ACNW vice-chairman, has pioneered the development and application of risk sciences in industries such as nuclear power, aerospace, and transportation. His doctoral thesis on unified systems safety analysis first advocated what is now known as probabilistic risk assessment. He also founded PLG, Inc., the first company dedicated to quantitative methods of risk assessment, retiring as president and CEO in 1997.

Dr. Garrick received his bachelor's degree in physics from Brigham Young University in 1952 and did graduate work in nuclear science and technology at the United States Atomic Energy Commission's Oak Ridge School of Reactor Technology in 1954-55. He received his master's degree in engineering and doctorate in engineering and applied science from the University of California, Los Angeles, in 1962 and 1968, respectively.

Dr. Ryan, an independent consultant in radiological sciences and health physics, has more than 25 years of experience in radioactive waste management and radiation protection. He is an adjunct faculty member at the Medical University of South Carolina and at the College of Charleston. He has also served on the Board of Directors of the National Council on Radiation Protection and Measurements, and was scientific vice president for the Council's Radioactive and Mixed Waste Management program.

Dr. Ryan earned his bachelor's degree in radiological health physics from Lowell Technological Institute in 1974. He received his master's degree in radiological sciences and protection from the University of Lowell in Massachusetts in 1976, and his doctorate in health physics from the Georgia Institute of Technology in 1982. He is certified by the American Board of Health Physics.

The other two ACNW members are former committee Chairman George M. Hornberger, a professor of environmental sciences at the University of Virginia in Charlottesville, and Milton Levenson, a former vice president of Bechtel International and nuclear engineering consultant.

###