

NRC NEWS

U.S. NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

Office of Public Affairs Telephone: 301/415-8200
Washington, DC 20555-0001 E-mail: opa@nrc.gov

Web Site: www.nrc.gov

No. 03-010 January 21, 2003

NRC ADVISORY COMMITTEE ON REACTOR SAFEGUARDS ELECTS CHAIRMAN, VICE CHAIRMAN AND MEMBER-AT-LARGE

The Nuclear Regulatory Commission's Advisory Committee on Reactor Safeguards (ACRS) has elected Dr. Mario V. Bonaca as Chairman, Dr. Graham B. Wallis as Vice-Chairman, and Mr. Stephen L. Rosen as Member-at-Large.

The ACRS, established in 1957, advises the Commission independently from the NRC staff on the safety aspects of nuclear facilities and the adequacy of safety standards.

Dr. Bonaca is a nuclear consultant with over 30 years of experience in analysis, design and operation support of nuclear power plants. During his career he worked at Combustion Engineering, Babcock and Wilcox, and was Director of Nuclear Engineering Services at Northeast Utilities. He received his doctorate in physics from the University of Florence, Italy, in 1964.

Dr. Wallis received his B.A. degree in 1957 in Mechanical Sciences, First Class Honors, while attending Cambridge University. He received his S.M. degree from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in 1959. Dr. Wallis obtained his M.A. and Ph.D. degrees at Cambridge University in 1961. Dr. Wallis is currently the Sherman Fairchild Professor of Engineering in the Thayer School of Engineering at Dartmouth College. He has held visiting positions at Heriot-Watt University, Warwick University, Oxford University, Cambridge University, and University College where he served as Interim Dean of Engineering from 1994-1995. Dr. Wallis' consulting experience includes Creare, Inc. and Hyperthermic, Inc.

Mr. Rosen received his Bachelors degree in Chemical Engineering in 1962 and his Masters degree in Nuclear Engineering in 1967, both from Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute. Mr. Rosen retired in February 2001 from the South Texas Project (STP) where he had been Vice-President of Nuclear Engineering and Manager of Risk Management. Prior to that, Mr. Rosen held management positions at the Institute of Nuclear Power Operations (INPO) including Vice-President, Analysis and Engineering. Before joining INPO, he held management positions with Boston Edison.

Other ACRS Members:

Dr. George E. Apostolakis, Professor, Nuclear Engineering Department, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, Massachusetts.

Dr. F. Peter Ford, Consultant and retired Program Manager, General Electric Research and Development Center, Schenectady, New York.

Dr. Thomas S. Kress, retired Head of Applied Systems Technology Section, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, Oak Ridge, Tennessee.

Mr. Graham M. Leitch, retired Vice-President, Limerick Generating Station, PECO Energy; retired Vice-President, Maine Yankee Atomic Power Co.; Member, Offsite Safety Review Committee, Calvert Cliffs Nuclear Power Plant, Lusby, Maryland.

Dr. Dana A. Powers, Senior Scientist, Nuclear Facilities Safety Department, Sandia National Laboratories, Albuquerque, New Mexico.

Dr. Victor H. Ransom, Professor Emeritus, School of Nuclear Engineering, Purdue University, West Lafayette, Indiana.

Dr. William J. Shack, Associate Director, Energy Technology Division, Argonne National Laboratory, Argonne, Illinois.

Mr. John D. Sieber, retired Senior Vice-President, Nuclear Power Division, Duquesne Light Company, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania.

###