

# NRC NEWS

#### U.S. NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

Office of Public Affairs Telephone: 301/415-8200 Washington, DC 20555-0001 E-mail: opa@nrc.gov

Web Site: www.nrc.gov

No. 02-076 June 25, 2002

## NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION HONORS EMPLOYEES ON JUNE 27 IN ROCKVILLE, MD

The Nuclear Regulatory Commission will hold its Twenty-Fifth Annual Awards Ceremony at 2 p.m. on Thursday, June 27, on the Green of the White Flint Complex.

The ceremony will also be broadcast to all four regional offices and the Technical Training Center in Chattanooga, Tennessee.

During the ceremony, NRC will acknowledge recipients of Presidential Executive Rank Awards and the NRC's Distinguished and Meritorious Service Awards. The following individuals are NRC's Presidential Executive Rank Award Recipients for 2001:

#### **Presidential Meritorious Executive Rank Awards**

Richard J. Barrett Deputy Director, Division of Engineering

Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

A. Randolph Blough Director, Division of Reactor Projects, Region I

E. William Brach Director, Spent Fuel Project Office

Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards

James L. Caldwell Deputy Regional Administrator, Region III

Samuel J. Collins Director, Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

Karen D. Cyr General Counsel

John T. Greeves Director, Division of Waste Management

Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards

Paul H. Lohaus Director, Office of State and Tribal Programs

The NRC Distinguished and Meritorious Service Awards are the highest awards that the NRC can give to its employees. For 2001, these awards are being granted to the following individuals:

#### **NRC Honorary Distinguished Service Awards**

William F. Kane Deputy Executive Director for Reactor Programs

Office of the Executive Director for Operations

Linda Portner Associate Director-Assistant to the Chairman

for Congressional Communications

Office of Congressional Affairs

### **NRC Distinguished Service Awards**

Lee R. Abramson Senior Research Statistician

Office of Nuclear Regulatory Research

Annie Mitchell Bennette Administrative Assistant, Office of the General Counsel

Gary F. Sanborn Enforcement Officer, Region IV

### **NRC Honorary Meritorious Service Award**

Ledyard (Tad) B. Marsh Acting Deputy Director

Division of Licensing Project Management Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

## NRC Meritorious Service Award for Equal Employment Opportunity Excellence

Susan Castro Senior Management Analyst

Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

#### **NRC Meritorious Service Awards**

Deborah Bailey-Mahdi Senior Accountant

Office of the Chief Financial Officer

Ramona C. Bouling Licensing Assistant, Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

Michael C. Cheok Senior Reliability and Risk Analyst

Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

Brent Clayton Enforcement/Investigations Officer, Region III

James W. Clifford Chief, Projects Section 2, Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

James R. Creed Safeguards Program Manager, Region III

Lynn Deering Senior Staff Scientist, Advisory Committee on Nuclear Waste

Yawar Faraz Senior Project Manager

Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards

Howard J. Faulkner Senior International Relations Officer

Office of International Programs

J. Bradley Fewell Regional Counsel, Region I

Kathy Halvey Gibson Chief, Emer Prep and Health Physics Section

Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

Pamela J. Henderson Senior Health Physicist, Region I

Anthony M. Huffert Senior Health Physicist

Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards

James W. Hufham Emergency Response Coordinator, Region II

William D. Hutchison Assistant to the Director, Office of Investigations

Victoria A. Ibarra Secretary, Office of the Executive Director for Operations

E. Neil Jensen Senior Attorney, Office of the General Counsel

Sandra M. Joosten Executive Assistant, Office of the Secretary

Roger M. Kenneally Senior Structural Engineer

Office of Nuclear Regulatory Research

Judy A. Kilcrease Secretary, Region IV

Julio F. Lara Senior Resident Inspector, Region III

Karen A. McCallie Secretary, Region II

Sheila L. McKelvin Secretary, Office of the Chief Financial Officer

Maureen Moriarty Licensing Management Systems Analyst

Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards

Catherine J. Poland Management Analyst (Team Lead)

Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards

Ann Ramey-Smith Technical Assistant, Office of Nuclear Regulatory Research

Benjamin W. Randall, Jr. Senior Communications Specialist

Office of the Chief Information Officer

William J. Raymond Senior Resident Inspector, Region I

Leonard J. Reidinger Chief, Specialized Training and Support

Office of Human Resources

Mary Lynn Scott Chief, Property and Acquisition Oversight Branch

Office of Administration

Joseph Shea Chief, Regional Operations and Program Management Staff

Office of the Executive Director for Operations

Leigh Trocine Nuclear Systems Engineer (Hdqtrs. Operations Officer)

Office of Nuclear Security and Incident Response

Brenda G. Usilton Management Analyst, Office of State and Tribal Programs

Peter K. Van Doorn Senior Reactor Inspector, Region II

Evelyn Spellman Williams Assistant for Correspondence and Records

Office of the Secretary

Peter R. Wilson Senior Reactor Analyst

Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation