

NRC NEWS

U.S. NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION Office of Public Affairs Telephone: 301/415-8200 Washington, DC 20555-001 E-mail: opa@nrc.gov Web Site: http://www.nrc.gov/OPA

No. 01-097

August 7, 2001

NRC NAMES STEPHEN L. ROSEN TO ADVISORY COMMITTEE ON REACTOR SAFEGUARDS

The Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) has appointed Stephen L. Rosen to its independent Advisory Committee on Reactor Safeguards (ACRS).

During a career of more than three decades, Mr. Rosen has been involved in nuclear power plant research, design, licensing, construction, engineering, operations, maintenance and risk analysis of boiling and pressurized water reactors. Last February, he retired from the South Texas Project (STP), where he served as Vice President of Nuclear Engineering and Manager of Risk Management. Prior to joining STP, Mr. Rosen held management positions at the Institute of Nuclear Power Operations, including Vice President of Analysis and Engineering. Previously, he held management positions with Boston Edison. He received his Bachelors degree in Chemical Engineering in 1962 and his Masters degree in Nuclear Engineering in 1967, both from Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute.

The ACRS was established in 1957 by the Congress to advise the former Atomic Energy Commission and subsequently the Nuclear Regulatory Commission with regard to the safety aspects of the proposed and existing nuclear facilities and the adequacy of related safety standards. The ACRS also performs other special assignments that the Commission may request, such as a review of the NRC research program.

Other Members of the ACRS are:

CHAIRMAN: Dr. George E. Apostolakis, Professor, Nuclear Engineering Department, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, MA.

VICE-CHAIRMAN: Dr. Mario V. Bonaca, retired Director, Nuclear Engineering Department, Northeast Utilities, CT.

MEMBER-AT-LARGE: Dr. Thomas S. Kress, retired Head of Applied Systems Technology Section, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, Oak Ridge, TN.

Dr. F. Peter Ford, Consultant and retired Program Manager, General Electric Research and Development Center, Schenectady, N.Y.

Dr. Graham M. Leitch, retired Vice President, Limerick Generating Station, PECO Energy; retired, Vice President, Maine Yankee Atomic Power Co.; Member, Offsite Safety Review Committee, Calvert Cliffs Nuclear Power Plant.

Dr. Dana A. Powers, Senior Scientist, Nuclear Facilities Safety Department, Sandia National Laboratories, Albuquerque, N.M.

Dr. William J. Shack, Associate Director, Energy Technology Division, Argonne National Laboratory, Argonne, IL.

Mr. John D. Sieber, retired Senior Vice president, Nuclear Power Division, Duquesne Light Company, Pittsburgh, PA.

Dr. Graham B. Wallis, Professor, Thayer School of Engineering, Dartmouth College, Hanover, N.H.

###