

NRC NEWS

U.S. NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

Office of Public Affairs Telephone: 301/415-8200 Washington, DC 20555-001 E-mail: opa@nrc.gov

Web Site: http://www.nrc.gov/OPA

No. 01-052 May 2, 2001

NRC NAMES DR. F. PETER FORD TO THE ADVISORY COMMITTEE ON REACTOR SAFEGUARDS

The Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) has appointed Dr. F. Peter Ford to its independent Advisory Committee on Reactor Safeguards (ACRS).

Dr. Ford is a consultant with 40 years experience in conducting and managing materials research and development programs in the power generation and materials processing industries. Dr. Ford recently retired from the General Electric Company. Before working for General Electric, he had worked for the Central Electricity Generating Board and the Olin Mathieson Chemical Corporation. Dr. Ford's contributions at General Electric included the development of life prediction methodology for structures exposed to stress corrosion fatigue, with particular emphasis on Boiling Water Reactors. This methodology was used for life extension and in-service inspection decisions for piping and core structures. Dr. Ford received a Master of Science degree in Metallurgical Engineering from the Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute in Troy, New York, in 1963, and a Doctoral degree from Cambridge University, United Kingdom in 1969.

The ACRS was established in 1957 by the Congress to advise the former Atomic Energy Commission and subsequently the Nuclear Regulatory Commission with regard to the safety aspects of proposed and existing nuclear facilities and the adequacy of related safety standards. The ACRS also performs other special assignments that the Commission may request, such as a review of the NRC research program.

Other Members of the ACRS are:

CHAIRMAN: Dr. George Apostolakis, Professor, Nuclear Engineering Department, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, MA.

VICE-CHAIRMAN: Dr. Mario V. Bonaca, retired Director, Nuclear Engineering Department, Northeast Utilities, Connecticut.

MEMBER-AT-LARGE: Dr. Thomas S. Kress, retired Head of Applied Systems Technology Section, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, Oak Ridge, TN.

Dr. Graham M. Leitch, retired Vice-President, Limerick Generating Station, PECO Energy; retired, Vice-President, Maine Yankee Atomic Power Co.; Member, Offsite Safety Review Committee, Calvert Cliffs Nuclear Power Plant.

Dr. Dana A. Powers, Manager, Nuclear Facilities Safety Department, Sandia National Laboratories, Albuquerque, NM.

Dr. William J. Shack, Associate Director, Energy Technology Division, Argonne National Laboratory, Argonne, IL.

Mr. John D. Sieber, retired Senior Vice-President, Nuclear Power Division, Duquesne Light Company, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania.

Dr. Robert E. Uhrig, Distinguished Professor, Nuclear Engineering Department, University of Tennessee, Knoxville, Tennessee, and Distinguished Scientist, I&C Division, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, Oak Ridge, Tennessee.

Dr. Graham B. Wallis, Professor, Thayer School of Engineering, Dartmouth College, Hanover, New Hampshire.

###