

NRC NEWS

U.S. NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

Office of Public Affairs Telephone: 301/415-8200 Washington, DC 20555-001 E-mail: opa@nrc.gov

Web Site: http://www.nrc.gov/OPA

No. 01-006 January 25, 2001

NRC ADVISORY COMMITTEE ON REACTOR SAFEGUARDS ELECTS CHAIRMAN, VICE-CHAIRMAN AND MEMBER-AT-LARGE

The Nuclear Regulatory Commission's Advisory Committee on Reactor Safeguards (ACRS) has elected Dr. George E. Apostolakis as Chairman, Dr. Mario V. Bonaca as Vice-Chairman, and Dr. Thomas S. Kress as Member-at-Large. Their terms run until December 31, 2001.

The ACRS, established in 1957, advises the Commission on the safety aspects of nuclear facilities and the adequacy of safety standards.

Dr. Apostolakis studied electrical engineering at the Technical University in Athens, Greece. He received his Ph.D. in engineering science and applied mathematics from the California Institute of Technology, and is currently a professor of nuclear engineering at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

Prior to joining MIT in 1995, he spent 21 years on the faculty at the University of California at Los Angeles. In addition, he has organized the first two International Conferences on Probabilistic Safety Assessment and Management and published numerous papers on probabilistic risk assessment methodology and risk management.

Dr. Bonaca received his Doctorate in physics from the University of Florence, Italy, in 1964. He has more than 30 years experience in the nuclear industry, including working with nuclear steam supply system designers engaged in reactor analysis and plant design for U.S. and German projects. He later was involved in the management of nuclear plant support in the areas of nuclear fuel, safety analysis, probabilistic risk assessment, radiological engineering, emergency planning, engineering programs, nuclear waste, and nuclear safety and oversight.

After receiving his B.S. and M.S. degrees, both in mechanical engineering, from the University of Tennessee in 1956 and 1965, Dr. Kress earned his Ph.D. in Engineering Science in 1971. He worked at the Oak Ridge National Laboratory in Tennessee from 1959 until his retirement in 1994, and has been involved in a wide range of issues including energy, space, military, and environmental research and development.

Other Members of the ACRS are:

Mr. Graham M. Leitch, retired Vice-President, Limerick Generating Station, PECO Energy; Vice-President, Maine Yankee Atomic Power Co.; Member, Off-site Safety Review Committee, Calvert Cliffs Nuclear Power Plant.

Dr. Dana A. Powers, Senior Scientist, Nuclear Facilities Safety Department, Sandia National Laboratories, Albuquerque, New Mexico.

Dr. Robert L. Seale, Professor Emeritus of Nuclear and Energy Engineering, Department of Nuclear and Energy Engineering, College of Engineering and Mines, University of Arizona, Tucson, Arizona.

Dr. William J. Shack, Associate Director, Energy Technology Division, Argonne National Laboratory, Argonne, Illinois.

Mr. John D. Sieber, retired Senior Vice-President, Nuclear Power Division, Duquesne Light Company, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania.

Dr. Robert E. Uhrig, Distinguished Professor, Nuclear Engineering Department, University of Tennessee, Knoxville, Tennessee, and Distinguished Scientist, I&C Division, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, Oak Ridge, Tennessee.

Dr. Graham B. Wallis, Professor, Thayer School of Engineering, Dartmouth College, Hanover, New Hampshire.

###