

NRC NEWS

U.S. NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

Office of Public Affairs Telephone: 301/415-8200 Washington, DC 20555-001 E-mail: opa@nrc.gov

Web Site: http://www.nrc.gov/OPA

No. 00-170 October 26, 2000

NRC NAMES GRAHAM M. LEITCH TO ADVISORY COMMITTEE ON REACTOR SAFEGUARDS

The Nuclear Regulatory Commission has appointed Graham M. Leitch to the Advisory Committee on Reactor Safeguards (ACRS).

Mr. Leitch received a Masters of Science in Mechanical Engineering, with an emphasis on nuclear engineering, from Drexel University in Philadelphia.

His 40-year career includes a wide array of executive management and technical experience in all phases of commercial power plant operations, including 25 years in which he was associated with nuclear power. He was the first site vice president of the Limerick Generating Station and vice president of operations at the Maine Yankee Atomic Power Station. He also has been certified as a senior reactor operator at both the Limerick and Dresden plants. Mr. Leitch was partially responsible for the development of the Limerick probabilistic risk assessment effort and its application to the design and operation of the plant.

In 1991, the American Nuclear Society gave him a Meritorious Performance Award in Reactor Operations based on activities related to the successful start-up of the Limerick plant.

From 1988 to 1991, he was a member of the industry review group that guided the Institute of Nuclear Power Operations (INPO) in policy matters related to power plant evaluation and assistance, serving as chairman in the final year. In addition, Mr. Leitch was a member of the Industry Review Group for Training and Education at INPO during the development of the training accreditation process and served as a mentor for the Senior Nuclear Managers Program on three separate occasions.

The ACRS, established in 1957, advises the Commission on the safety aspects of nuclear facilities and the adequacy of safety standards. Members serve for four-year terms, and may serve no more than three consecutive terms.

Other Members of the ACRS are:

CHAIRMAN: Dr. Dana A. Powers, Manager, Nuclear Facilities Safety Department, Sandia National Laboratories, Albuquerque, NM.

VICE-CHAIRMAN: Dr. George Apostolakis, Professor, Nuclear Engineering Department, Massachusetts of Technology, Cambridge, MA.

MEMBER-AT-LARGE: Dr. Mario V. Bonaca, retired Director, Nuclear Engineering Department, Northeast Utilities, CT.

Dr. Thomas S. Kress, retired Head of Applied Systems Technology Section, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, Oak Ridge, TN.

Dr. Robert L. Seale, Professor Emeritus of Nuclear and Energy Engineering, Department of Nuclear and Energy Engineering, College of Engineering and Mines, University of Arizona, Tucson, AZ.

Dr. William J. Shack, Associate Director, Energy Technology Division, Argonne National Laboratory, Argonne, IL.

Mr. John D. Sieber, retired Senior Vice President, Nuclear Power Division, Duquesne Light Company, Pittsburgh, PA.

Dr. Robert E. Uhrig, Distinguished Professor, Nuclear Engineering Department, University of Tennessee, Knoxville, Tennessee, and Distinguished Scientist, I&C Division, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, Oak Ridge, TN.

Dr. Graham B. Wallis, Professor, Thayer School of Engineering, Dartmouth College, Hanover, NH.

###