

NRC NEWS

U.S. NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

Office of Public Affairs

Telephone: 301/415-8200

Washington, DC 20555-001

E-mail: opa@nrc.gov

Web Site: http://www.nrc.gov/OPA

No. 00-100 June 21, 2000

NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION HONORS EMPLOYEES

The Nuclear Regulatory Commission will hold its Twenty-Third Annual Awards Ceremony on Thursday at 2 p.m. on the Green of the White Flint Complex.

The ceremony will also be broadcast to all four regional offices and the Technical Training Center in Chattanooga, Tennessee.

During the ceremony, NRC will acknowledge recipients of Presidential Executive Rank Awards and the NRC's Distinguished and Meritorious Service Awards. The following individuals are NRC's Presidential Executive Rank Award Recipients for 1999:

PRESIDENTIAL DISTINGUISHED EXECUTIVE RANK AWARD

William F. Kane Director

Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards

PRESIDENTIAL MERITORIOUS EXECUTIVE RANK AWARDS

Paul E. Bird Director

Office of Human Resources

Bruce A. Boger Director

Division of Inspection Program Management

Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

Farouk Eltawila Chief

Safety Margins and Systems Analysis Branch

Office of Nuclear Regulatory Research

Christopher I. Grimes Chief

License Renewal and Standardization Branch

Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

Donald F. Hassell Assistant General Counsel for Administration

Office of the General Counsel

Michael E. Mayfield Director

Division of Engineering Technology Office of Nuclear Regulatory Research

Cynthia D. Pederson Director

Division of Nuclear Materials Safety

Region III

Ashok C. Thadani Director

Office of Nuclear Regulatory Research

William D. Travers Executive Director for Operations

Martin J. Virgilio Deputy Director

Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards

The NRC Distinguished and Meritorious Service Awards are the highest awards that NRC can give to its employees. For 1999, these awards are being granted to the following individuals:

NRC DISTINGUISHED SERVICE AWARDS

Lee Berry Management Analyst

Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

Claudia A. Seelig Team Leader

Program Analysis Team

Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards

NRC HONORARY MERITORIOUS SERVICE AWARDS

John F. Cordes, Jr. Solicitor

Office of the General Counsel and

Director

Office of Commission Appellate Adjudication

Paul H. Lohaus Director

Office of State and Tribal Programs

Hubert J. Miller Regional Administrator

Region I

Michael Louis Springer Director

Office of Administration

Robert S. Wood Licensee Financial Policy Advisor

Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

NRC MERITORIOUS SERVICE AWARDS

Charlotte E. Abrams Team Leader

Projects Team

Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards

Dyle Acker Resident Inspector

Diablo Canyon Nuclear Station Resident Office

Region IV

Alma C. Allen Regional Personnel Officer

Region II

Theron H. Brown Audiovisual Information Assistant

Advisory Committee on Reactor

Safeguards/Advisory Committee on Nuclear Waste

Donna Chenier Chaney Senior International Policy Officer

Office of International Programs

Debra J. Corley Senior Program Assistant

Office of the Executive Director for Operations

Mary T. Drouin Chief

Section A

Office of Nuclear Regulatory Research

Yvonne A. Edmonds Secretary

Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

Sue F. Gagner Special Assistant to the Director

Office of Public Affairs

Paul W. Gallien Librarian (Cataloger)

Office of the Chief Information Officer

Melanie A. Galloway Chief

Enrichment Section

Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards

Emilio M. Garcia Health Physicist

Region IV

Joseph G. Giitter Chief

Operations Section

Incident Response Operations

Kenneth R. Hart Technical Coordinator

Office of the Secretary

Patrick Leo Hiland Chief

Fuel Cycle Branch

Region III

George T. Hubbard Chief

Balance of Plant and Containment Systems Section

Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

James H. Joyner Director

Division of Resource Management

Region I

Lawrence E. Kokajko Technical Assistant

Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards

Anthony C. Lipuma Team Leader

Team A

Office of the Inspector General

Donald G. Marksberry, Jr. Reliability and Risk Engineer

Office of Nuclear Regulatory Research

David L. Meyer Chief

Rules and Directives Branch Office of Administration

Gilbert C. Millman Program Manager for Codes and Standards

Office of Nuclear Regulatory Research

R. LaRue Mills Human Resources Assistant

Region III

Scott W. Moore Chief

Section B

Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards

Emmett L. Murphy Senior Materials Engineer

Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

L. Raghavan Senior Project Manager

Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

Stacey L. Rosenberg Transportation Assistant

Region IV

Melvin C. Shannon Senior Resident Inspector

Oconee Nuclear Station Resident Office

Region II

Debbie Shew Fiscal Accounting Assistant

Office of the Chief Financial Officer

Carolyn J. Swanson Team Leader

Human Resources Policy and Programs

Office of Human Resources

James M. Trapp Senior Reactor Analyst

Region I

Leah P. Tremper Team Leader

Accounts Receivable Team

Office of the Chief Financial Officer

Sherwin E. Turk Senior Litigation Attorney

Office of the General Counsel

J. D. Wilcox, Jr. Senior Operations Engineer

Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

Richard L. Woodruff Regional Agreement State Program Officer

Region II

Separately, 78 NRC employees received special medals last week from the President's Council on Y2K Conversion in recognition of their significant contribution to successful Y2K rollover January 1. They were among several hundred federal workers so honored.

###