United States Nuclear Regulatory Commission Office of Public Affairs Washington, DC 20555 Phone 301-415-8200 Fax 301-415-2234 Internet:opa@nrc.gov

No. 99-194

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE (Thursday, September 9, 1999)

## NRC NAMES JOHN D. SIEBER TO THE ADVISORY COMMITTEE ON REACTOR SAFEGUARDS

The Nuclear Regulatory Commission has appointed John D. Sieber of Wexford, Pennsylvania, to the Advisory Committee on Reactor Safeguards (ACRS).

Mr. Sieber received a Bachelor of Science degree in Mechanical Engineering from Carnegie Mellon University in 1961. He also attended Purdue University and the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

His 30-year career includes line and management positions at Duquesne Light Company. He has also served as a member or director of many organizations, including the Electric Power Research Institute, Nuclear Electric Insurance Limited, the Nuclear Energy Institute, the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, and the Westinghouse Owners Group.

As a consultant to RWE Energie in Essen, Germany, Mr. Sieber was active in the use of simulators for nuclear operator training.

Since 1994, Mr. Sieber has been the President of Northmont Consulting, Incorporated, involved in nuclear plant assessments, management oversight and mentoring, event analysis, oversight of root cause determinations, and operational and human performance analysis.

The Advisory Committee on Reactor Safeguards, established in 1957, advises the Commission on the safety aspects of nuclear facilities and the adequacy of safety standards. Members serve for four-year terms, and may serve no more than three consecutive terms.

## Other Members of the Committee are:

CHAIRMAN: Dr. Dana A. Powers, Senior Scientist, Nuclear Facilities Safety Department, Sandia National Laboratories, Albuquerque, NM.

VICE-CHAIRMAN: Dr. George Apostolakis, Professor, Nuclear Engineering Department, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, MA.

MEMBER-AT-LARGE: Dr. Thomas S. Kress, retired Head of Applied Systems Technology Section, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, Oak Ridge, TN.

Mr. John B. Barton, retired Vice-President, GPU Nuclear Corporation, Parsippany, NJ.

Dr. Mario V. Bonaca, retired Director, Nuclear Engineering Department, Northeast Utilities, Connecticut.

Dr. William J. Shack, Associate Director, Energy Technology Division, Argonne National Laboratory, Argonne, IL.

Dr. Robert L. Seale, Professor Emeritus of Nuclear and Energy Engineering, Department of Nuclear and Energy Engineering, College of Engineering and Mines, University of Arizona, Tucson, AZ.

Dr. Robert E. Uhrig, Distinguished Professor, Nuclear Engineering Department, University of Tennessee, Knoxville, Tennessee, and Distinguished Scientist, I&C Division, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, Oak Ridge, Tennessee.

Dr. Graham B. Wallis, Professor, Thayer School of Engineering, Dartmouth College, Hanover, New Hampshire.

###